A Chink in the Armour?

In this season of Lent, I’ve been studying the life of Jesus through the book of Luke. Today, I’ve been thinking about the betrayal, the conspiracy, the scheming work of the evil one, in the events leading up to the crucifixion.   Judas and others were used in this plot to kill Jesus… I shudder as I meditate.

It has always struck me that the religious leaders of the day were used in this plan.  We know that Jesus had much to say to them in His time on earth.  In their own way, they were earnest, devout, serious about the things of God.    In an area of vulnerability, namely their desire for power, Satan was able to involve them.  I am less then delighted in my awareness of this.  I’m a leader in my own church.  I began to wonder, in what ways am I vulnerable, or susceptible… where is the chink in my armour?

Eph. 6:11 reminds us to put on the full armour of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.  The word picture here isn’t helpful for me…  words like belt, breastplate, shield, helmet… are you picturing a medieval soldier?  I recall, once in a Bible study, being asked what each piece represented… I still can’t answer that without a good look at the text (and maybe the footnotes).

Today however, my gaze shifts to some of the other words – the real armour.  Words like truth, righteousness, readiness, peace, faith, salvation, Word of God, and prayer.  These are the things that fit us for battle.

I worry about our culture where even Christians seem too busy to read the Word.  I recognize in my own life, a busyness that makes it difficult to pray.  I see around me the distractions of the world, in this affluent, electronic, virtual age.   And I wonder about the chinks in our armour…

Read the passage again, this time from the Message:

Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.

Read His Word…  embrace it…  live it out…  pray long and hard!

…the full armour… no chinks!

 

 

About Marian

Missional Discipleship
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

