Teach Me to Pray…

A few weeks ago, in my Bible study, we were reflecting on Jesus teaching his disciples the Lord’s Prayer.  It’s curious to me that the Disciples asked Jesus, “Lord teach us to pray…”  Didn’t he pray with them often, as they shared a meal, or fed the 5000?  Why did they ask Him, “Lord teach us to pray?

I suspect it’s because they saw Him go off by himself, and pray.  Luke 11 reveals just such a scene.  When he finished praying, His disciples made the request, “Lord teach us to pray”.

In this Bible study, someone asked me about my personal prayer.   As I shared about simply coming to God for who He is, without requests and petitions, a woman asked, “What does that look like?”

In a similar study, another woman asked, “How do I pray for something I really want, when I’m not sure it’s God’s will?”  And yet another woman shared her concerns for teaching her children to pray.

… Lord, teach me to pray…

It has occurred to me that like the disciples, we’re all asking the question, Lord, teach me to pray.  We desire to come nearer to the heart of God, and yet we struggle with how to do that.

One thing that has been helpful for me is to use scripture to lead into prayer.  Because we can’t see God, it’s so important to come to know Him through His Word.  It helps me to see Him more clearly as I pray, especially when I use that scripture to pray.  The Psalms can be a great starting place, as we pray scripture.

Consider Psalm 8:

O Lord, our Lord, your majestic name fills the earth!
Your glory is higher than the heavens.
You have taught children and infants to tell of your strength,
silencing your enemies and all who oppose you.

When I look at the night sky and see the work of your fingers—
the moon and the stars you set in place—
what are mere mortals that you should think about them,
human beings that you should care for them?
Yet you made them only a little lower than God
and crowned them with glory and honor.
You gave them charge of everything you made,
putting all things under their authority—
the flocks and the herds and all the wild animals,
the birds in the sky, the fish in the sea,
and everything that swims the ocean currents.

 O Lord, our Lord, your majestic name fills the earth!

This scripture helps us to see God… He is Creator… His glory fills the earth… and the heavens… even little children sing His praise.  O Lord, our Lord, how majestic is Your Name in all the earth!

And finally, is there someone who needs you to teach them to pray?  Is there someone you could begin to pray with, so that together you can learn what it means to come near to God’s heart, as you focus on who He is?

Use God’s Word to praise Him today!

About Marian

Missional Discipleship
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

